BTEC - Higher National Certificate in Business

Accredited by Pearson International (previously known as Edexcel) to conduct the internationally recognized Pearson specially designed to enhance the skills and knowledge of students who wish to obtain a job oriented qualification and cater to the demands of the dynamic corporate world. ACBT’s experience in operating for 19 years and its highly experienced HND lecture panel take great pride in creating a new generation of professionals who are ready to hit the ground running.

The HNC Higher National Certificate provides direct entry into HND Higher National Diploma.


  • Globally recognized qualification
  • Equivalent to 1st year of a UK Honours Degree
  • Experienced Lecturer Panel
  • Flexible Payment Plans
  • No Exams – only assignments
  • Be competitive in the job market
  • Friendly and supportive learning environment

Program Structure

BTEC Higher Nationals consists of Core units, Special units and Optional units.

  • Core and Special units are mandatory
  • Special units are designed to provide a specific occupational focus to the qualifications and are aligned to Professional Body standards

All units are usually 15 credits in value, or multiple thereof.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 - Higher National Certificate in Business

HNC is a level 04 qualification made up of 120 credits. This is made-up of 08 units, each with a value of 15 credits. It is usually studied in full – time over one year, or part time two years.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Business Unit Credit Level
Core Unit Mandatory Business and the Business Environment 15 4
Core Unit Mandatory Marketing Essentials 15 4
Core Unit Mandatory Human Resource Management 15 4
Core Unit Mandatory Management and Operations 15 4
Core Unit Mandatory Management Accounting 15 4
Core Unit Mandatory Managing a successful Business Project 15 4
Select 02 Optional Units from the below table.
Optional Unit Business Law 15 4
Optional Unit Innovation & Commercialization 15 4
Optional Unit Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management 15 4
Optional Unit Financial Accounting 15 4

Program Awards

Awarding Institution

Pearson Education Ltd

Qualification Titles

Pearson BTEC Level 4-Higher National Certificate in Business

Qualifications are awarded following the decision of the Assessment Board held by ACBT and the Verification of the Pearson External Verifiers.

Conditions for the Award

To achieve a Pearson BTEC HNC qualification a student must have:

  • Completed units equivalent to 120 credits at level 4;
  • Achieved at least a pass in 105 credits at level 4;

Program Entry Requirements and Admissions

BTEC –HNC & HND Programme

  • Min. of 2 passes at GCE Advanced Level or
  • A BTEC Level 3 Qualification or equivalent any other - related Level 3 Qualifications
  • An access to Higher Education Certificate awarded - by an approved further education institute or
  • NVQ Level 4 certificate or Foundation program
  • A recognized Diploma of 4 – 8 months duration or
  • Related work experience

English Language Requirement

Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications are both taught and assessed in English. Following qualifications are required for non-native English speakers

  • Final 02 years of schooling in English medium
  • Non-native English speaking students who does not come under above should demonstrate capability in English at a standard equivalent to
    • IELTS 5.5 (Reading & Writing at 5.5)
    • PTE 51
    • Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR ) level B2
    • A credit pass at GCE (O’ Level )
    • A pass at GCE (A’ Level)
    • Or equivalent

Recognition of Prior Learning

Is a method of assessment that considers whether students can demonstrate that they can meet the assessment requirements for a unit through knowledge, understanding or skills they already possess and so do not need to develop through a course of learning.

Please refer to the policy on Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), which you can find at